Skip to content

Family

June 29, 2013

I seem to have developed the unfortunate habit of scattering pieces of my heart all around the world. Leaving Benin in two (eee!!!!!) months will be just as hard as leaving the states two years ago – perhaps more so as I’m not sure if or when I’ll be able to come back.

I know I’ve said it before, but these people have truly become my second family. Celine’s my older sister – sassy and always willing to equally help me out and tell me what I’m doing wrong. Mama Silvan’s the middle child, a little quieter but again always there for me. Nicole plays the role of my younger sister – a sweetheart following me around (and in true older sister fashion, I’m still in shock about her having a baby!). Which I guess makes me an aunt several times over….to the babies of Nicole’s Rita and Mama Silvan’s Samuel. To Celine’s Caroline who is slowly learning to crawl and babble as she explores the world. To Ila – his impish smile and perchance for crocodile tears; to Bridgeeti and her habit of running straight into my legs every time I come home; to Silvan and his laugh and attempts to mimic my English sentences. And that’s not even mentioning Mama Christine. Emma. Christ-Peace. Prim. Odette. Pascal and his family. All the apprentices at the clinic. All my students both with the health club and the girls’ clubs. All of my round of marché mamas. All of the random individuals in village who I’ve never quite caught the name of, but who always greet me and have welcomed me with open arms.

It’s a brilliant feeling….but it’s going to make September difficult. I don’t know what I’m going to do without them. In the meantime, I’m going to try my best to use these next entries to describe everyone – written snapshots if you will – so no matter where I end up in the world, there memory will always be with me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    June 29, 2013 9:50 pm

    Bitter sweet, You have such a big heart, you will hold your second family there forever. So glad that you could embrace this wonderful experience and have made such amazing new relationships.

  2. Marguerite DeMatties permalink
    June 30, 2013 4:52 pm

    Hi!

    I thank you for your strong, reassuring words. My son Michael DeMatties, age 24, arrived in Benin a few days ago, and I (his Mom) have not heard from him–yet. He was apprehensive of his adventure…
    So sensing your excitement, love and the deep richness that you have discovered in your life and Benin is reassuring.
    ,The Peace Corps is fifty years old+ and thriving–despite some tragedies, but also the glory. and giving.of its volunteers.

    Respectfully, Marguerite DeMatties Madison, Wisconsin. (6/30/2013)

Leave a comment